Paid Family Leave in New York State
What does the paid family leave law do?
The law guarantees fathers time off to bond with a new child (including adopted and foster children); care for a seriously ill family member; or address certain military family needs.
Am I covered?
If you’re employed outside the government in New York State, either full-time or part-time, you’re probably covered under the law, regardless of how many people work for your employer. The law applies regardless of immigration or citizenship status.
When can dads take bonding leave?
Dads have the right to take bonding leave at any point within the first 12 months following a child’s birth or placement for adoption or foster care. If a child has two parents, each parent (of any gender) has the right to up to ten weeks of paid family leave.
What family members can leave be taken to care for?
You can take paid family leave to care for your child, parent, parent-in-law, spouse (including a same-sex spouse), domestic partner, grandchild, or grandparent when that person has a serious health need. These needs can include a serious physical or mental illness, injury, or condition.
What types of child-parent relationships are covered under the law?
Under the law, your child includes your biological, adoptive, or foster child, as well as your legal ward, your stepchild, the child of your domestic partner, or a child to whom you stand in loco parentis (a phrase that means you have taken on the role and responsibilities of a parent, even if you do not have a biological or legal relationship with the child).
How much paid family leave can I take?
In 2020, you can take up to ten weeks of family leave. In 2021, you will be able to take up to 12 weeks of leave.
How much of my paycheck can I get while I am on paid family leave?
In 2020, you can receive 60% of your average weekly pay, up to $840.70 per week. In 2021, you can receive 67% of your average weekly pay, up to $971.61 per week.
Will my job be protected while I am on leave?
Yes. You have the right to return to work. If you receive healthcare coverage through your employer, you also have the right to keep your healthcare coverage under its current conditions.
When can I begin taking paid family leave?
You can start receiving benefits six months after your start date. If you work less than 20 hours per week, you may need to work for slightly longer (175 days) to qualify.
Who pays for paid family leave?
Workers pay for paid family leave through small payroll deductions. For 2020, these deductions will be no more than an average of $3.78 per week, and many workers will pay less than that. For 2021, these deductions will be no more than an average of $7.41 per week, and many workers will pay less than that.
Do I have any other rights?
You may also have rights related to your family needs under other laws. You can find out more about these rights here.
Call A Better Balance if you have any questions about your rights at work.
Our free helpline can provide you with information about your rights at work (or refer you to another attorney or legal organization in your area). The information provided here or in response to a helpline inquiry does not constitute legal advice and does not establish an attorney-client relationship. If ABB chooses to represent you, then a retainer will be signed setting out the scope of the representation.