Blog

Summer 2022 Brings New State and Local Paid Sick Time Rights for Workers

Despite inaction at the federal level, paid leave protections have been expanding from coast to coast throughout 2022.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Blog Categories: , ,

As we wrote earlier this year, despite inaction at the federal level, paid leave protections have been expanding from coast to coast throughout 2022. In addition to the new laws previously reported on, as of July 1, the following laws will go into effect protecting more workers with paid sick time. 

Beginning July 1, workers throughout New Mexico will be able to earn and use their accrued paid sick time under the state’s paid sick time law. Under the law, covered workers can earn and take up to 64 hours of paid sick time per year to care for themselves and their family members. For more information about your rights under this law, click here.

In central New Mexico, Bernalillo County’s county-wide paid time off law is fully in effect as of July 1. The law, which originally took effect on October 1, 2020, now provides covered workers in the county up to 56 hours of paid time off per year. Unlike the state-wide law which can be used for a variety of sick time purposes for the worker or worker’s family members, time under the county law can be used for any purpose at all. This includes time off to care for themselves or their family members but is not limited to those purposes. In general, workers who are covered by both the New Mexico statewide paid sick time law and the Bernalillo County paid time off law are entitled to the rights and protections of whichever law provides greater rights and protections.

Similarly, a paid time off law in West Hollywood, California that provides more leave than any other paid sick time or paid time off law in the country is fully in effect beginning July 1. The law partially took effect earlier this year, and now provides covered workers with up to 96 hours of paid time off per year, which can be used for any purpose, including to take time off to care for themselves or their family members. In addition to the 96 hours of paid leave, the law also provides up to 80 hours of unpaid time off per year, which workers can use when they are or their family member is sick, once the worker’s paid time off under the law has been exhausted. Workers may be covered by both the California statewide paid sick time law, and the West Hollywood paid time off law. As in New Mexico, workers in West Hollywood who are also covered by the state law are entitled to the rights and protections of whichever law provides greater rights and protections. 

For more information about your paid leave rights, visit our Workplace Rights Hub. If you have additional questions, contact our free work-family legal helpline

Categories
Scroll to Top